New SCA Chair and Board

New SCA Chair and Board

12 September 2019

The Scottish Council on Archives (SCA) has appointed Bruce Jackson as its new Chair.  Bruce has taken over from Dr Irene O’Brien, who has served as Chair and Trustee since its formation in 2002 and stepped down at the Annual Members’ Meeting on Thursday 5 September 2019.

Bruce Jackson worked as an archivist and records manager in higher education and local government in both Scotland and England, finally retiring in 2014 after being County Archivist and then County Heritage Manager for Lancashire County Council for 20 years. He was previously Chief Archivist in Tyne and Wear from 1986 to 1993. He was chair of the Chief Archivists in Local Government Group (previously ACALG) from 2002 to 2012, and a member of the Self-Assessment Panel (2006-2011).

He previously chaired the Archive Services Accreditation Panel and also carries out consultancy mainly in the Scottish Borders. In 2018, Bruce was honoured by the (UK) All Party Parliamentary Group on Archives and History with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bruce said: “I am delighted to take on the role of Chair of the Scottish Council on Archives.  My predecessor, Dr Irene O’Brien, has played an enormous role in the development and success of SCA.  Her contribution to the archives and records management sector in Scotland is unrivalled and my fellow trustees and I are very grateful for everything she has done.  We look forward to continue drawing on her knowledge and experience.”

Dr Irene O’Brien, who is Senior Archivist with Glasgow City Archives, said: “I am sad to be stepping down.  It has been an honour and a privilege to have been the SCA Chair since the beginning and I feel sure that I am leaving the organisation in good hands with an even more successful future ahead.”

Also following the AMM, three new trustees were elected to the board: Heather Jack, Sharon McMeekin, and Ruaraidh Wishart.